A Christmas Story…like no other???

Look at what that idiot is doing with that piece of wood? Cant believe he gets the opposable thumbs!

The Sun is beaming in the sky; its frosty and cold. I am sitting in my pyjamas, I have my writing cowboy hat on; Dusty Springfield is blaring on the stereo; and I have a glass of something soothing on the table next to me. Yes its time for me to write the blog. When I say the blog I mean of course THE BLOG, the Christmas blog that is…

Is this where Santa is going to deliver the Prezzies??

There have been several indicators that Christmas was coming. My first clue was of course the weather, and then Dave popped his head out of the roof; pretending to be Santa Claus, Well I think he was just preparation for the main event on the 24th. I dare not ask where he hides the Sleigh or the Reindeer!! Santa Dave has of course a lot to answer for at most times of the year but especially at Christmas time, and even more especially at this Christmas time!

 

Santa Dave’s teachings have inspired me to, well be more me, more in tune with myself and my abilities. He has pushed, pulled and even sworn at me, then there the Dave look i get more than 50 times a day! Why? Well you see for Santa (aka Dave) there are no such things as seeing in grey, only black and white. You either can or well, you just have to try harder!!

 

Now its Christmas time and I have to, no scratch that, I want to get something for my life partner, you know the one who is always there, except when she is away. So what can I get, or even what can I do to prove my love for her. Enter Santa (Dave) not in person, figuratively so to speak I should probably explain a few things before I go any further. The Dog House has taken up most of our savings and as I am not employed; well not earning money from my employment as 3rd assistant dogs-body on the project; we decided to put a 20 Euro limit on presents to each other. This is where Santa (Dave’s) voice popped into my head……….You can make something for her!!!!

 

Now lets be totally clear, Dave err Santa, didn’t actually say those words to me. In fact, I am sure when he hears of this he may have a few choice words to say to me. But at the time of thinking of it I was pumped. Nothing could defeat me, I had a plan, I had the tools (thanks by the way Dave);and off course I had no skill whatsoever, but confidence can everything cant it??? Confidence was high, I stress was… So off I trotted, I got some wood, small piece because the gift was from my heart. Well actually it was going to be my heart. No, not the one in my chest, figuratively, come on, keep up. You see she travels a lot and this way I would make a small wooden heart with my own bare hands and she could take it with her everywhere!! Nice eh!! Romantic that’s me….

 

So I expect that you would like to see the result wouldn’t you? I know you would, well in reality so would I! You see there were a couple of issues. Its seems that confidence in this case doesn’t work. I started with a nice piece of wood about 5″x5″. This was about a week ago. Each day I have toiled, carved rubbed; sanded and sworn. Well there was a lot of swearing. The result wasn’t the best, if I am honest, but it may have been passable if hearts weren’t supposed to look heart -like and more like a small stick shaped thing. I may have gotten away with it though, you know its the effort and all that, and its still a really cool Romantic idea even Bum , the dog thought so…..

She stole it off the table and presumably has buried it somewhere in the garden because I cant find it anywhere!! Maybe she was trying to tell me something? Maybe she thought it would be nice if it accompanied my iPhone she stole a few moths ago? Who knows… But i forgive her you see Christmas is about forgiveness; and love; family all that. I just hope my wife remembers that when I give her the present I still have to buy. But of course she will, and do you know why? Well that’s easy she is wonderful, amazing even, the best thing that ever happened to me!

Are you wondering why I am being so nice about her? Just to be sure you see I am going to get her to edit this blog for me!!! Merry Christmas all!

4 thoughts on “A Christmas Story…like no other???

  1. It is cold, sunny and windy here in the north east of Scotland and it stays darker for longer. Hope you and Iwona enjoy your first Xmas in the new house. Wishing you both a merry Xmas and a happy alcohol laden new year. You can both take a few days off to enjoy yourselves – you have earned it!!!

    Like

    • Thanks Beil. A very Merry Christmas to you both and everyone. I opened our post box this morning 1st time in ages, thank you so much for your card and gift. Best wishes to you both

      Like

  2. Merry Christmas mate, have an awesome one, love from all the Zanders

    Like

Leave a comment